Arthur R. Himsel Award

The Association of Indiana Counties (AIC) has named Hamilton County Surveyor Kenton C. Ward as the 2009 Himsel Award Winner.   More...

Ken Hedge - Winner of 2019 Presidential Award

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (March 2019) – Congratulations to Ken Hedge, recipient of the 2019 Indiana County Surveyors Association Presidential Award. This award was presented March of 2019 at the Purdue Road School during the surveyors association annual meeting by President Richard Vermillion.

About Ken - Boone County Surveyor Kenneth Hedge is a 1983 graduate of Purdue University in agricultural economics. Hedge began is service to Boone County by working for the Boone County Soil and Water Conservation District for three years. Ken was elected has Boone County Surveyor in 1990 and since that time has continued to serve the citizens of Boone County.

As county surveyor Hedge serves as an ex officio member of the Boone county drainage board, a member of theKen Hedge  Receives Award Boone County area plan commission where he has served multiple years as president of the board. He is a member of the Technical Advisory Committee for Boone County, Whitestown, Lebanon and Zionsville. Ken was appointed by former governor Mitch Daniels to serve on the Indiana state water pollution control board from 2006-2012. Along with his role as county surveyor Ken also supervises the county GIS, IT and weights and measures department.

Ken continues to work with the farmers to help improve agricultural drainage and also works with engineers and developers to insure drainage is top priority when developing a site in Boone County. Ken has been very active in bringing Boone County Corner Section Stone Project up to standard.

Ken is a Past President of County Surveyors Association of Indiana, has served as Vice-President of the Northern Region of CSAI and on the Board of Directors of AIC. Ken has served as president of the Boone County 4H fair board, president of the Boone County 4H Council, member of the 4-H Building and grounds. Ken is currently a precinct committeeman in Boone County. He is a lifelong member of the Fairview Christian church where he has served as Deacon.

Ken Hedge is a lifelong resident of Boone County, currently living on the family farm with his wife Chrissy. They have raised three children and currently have three grandchildren. Ken also continues to farm on the Hedge Family Farm with his Father and Daughter.

Jeff Mueller - Winner of 2018 AIC Surveyor of the Year Award

Indianapolis, Ind. (September 2018) – Congratulations to Jeff Mueller, recipient of the 2018 AIC Surveyor of the Year Award.

This award was presented September at the annual AIC Conference by President Richard Vermillion.

Winners of Past Awards

The following are past winners of the PRESIDENTIAL AWARD, presented annually by the Indiana County Surveyors Association.

Year Surveyor County
2019 Ken Hedge Boone
2018 Zach Beasley Tippecanoe
2017 Susan Bodkin Hancock
2016 Terry Brock Morgan
2015 Michael Arena Lawrence
2014 Susan Bodkin Hancock
2013 Jay Poe Huntington
2012 David Gaston Hendricks
2011 George Van Til Lake
2010 Jarod Hahn Wells
2009 Michael Stevenson Gibson
2008 Allan Frisinger Allen
2007 Michael Stevenson Gibson
2006 Chris Knochel Newton
2005 David Smoll Hancock
2004 Rex Pranger LaGrange
2003 Steve Murray Tippecanoe
2002 Blake Doriot Elkhart
2001 Allan Frisinger Allen
2000 Jay Poe Huntington
1999 John Stephens Wabash
1998 Greg Deeds Miami
1997 John McNamara St. Joseph
1996 Larry Fisher Marshall
1995 Kent Ward Hamilton
1994 E.R. Gray Bartholomew
1993 James Milligan White
1992 Michael Spencer Tippecanoe

The following are past winners of the OUTSTANDING COUNTY SURVEYOR AWARD, presented annually by the Association of Indiana Counties.

Year Surveyor County
2018 Jeff Mueller Vanderburgh
2017 Ed Thornburg Randolph
2016 Blake Doriot Elkhart
2015 Allan Frisinger Allen
2014 Zach Beasley Tippecanoe
2013 Ken Hedge Boone
2012 Susan Bodkin Hancock
2011 Jarrod Hahn Wells
2010 Chris Knochel Newton
2009 Michael Stevenson Gibson
2008 Jerry Gobin Fayette
2007 Terry Brock Morgan
2006 Rex Pranger LaGrange
2005 Jeff French Ripley
2004 Kent Ward Hamilton
2003 David Gaston Hendricks
2002 Steve Murray Tippecanoe
2001 Richard Vermillion Knox
2000 John Stephens Wabash
1999 Scott Ziegler Noble
1998 Richard Kemper Kosciusko
1997 Kenneth Brosmer Dubois
1996 Marlowe Davis Newton
1995 David Smoll Hancock
1994 Jay Poe Huntington
1993 Greg Deeds Marion
1992 Jeff Souder Washington
1991 Larry Fisher Marshall
1990 Don Bengel Porter
1989 E.R. Gray Bartholomew
1988 Rollyn Blankenbeker Clark
1987 William Sweet Allen
1986 David Wolf DeKalb
1985 Don Rock Elkhart
1984 Kent Ward Hamilton
1983 John McNamara St. Joseph
Blake Doriot Receives Award

Jeff Mueller receives the 2018 Surveyor of the Year Award